_Admin Site Tutorial Board - "Remember Me" versus "Keep Me Signed In Until I Sign Out" - they are NOT the same - _Admin Site Tutorial Board - InvestorVillage


This is a semi-private group. You are free to browse messages, but you must be a member of this group to post messages. Join This Group

Group: _Admin Site Tutorial Board   /  Message Board  /  Read Message

 
 






Keyword
Subject
Between
and
Rec'd By
Authored By
Minimum Recs
  
Previous Message  Next Message    Post Message    Post a Reply return to message boardtop of board
Msg  16 of 24  at  3/8/2015 8:58:06 AM  by

Admin

The following message was updated on 3/8/2015 9:07:36 AM.

"Remember Me" versus "Keep Me Signed In Until I Sign Out" - they are NOT the same

 Here's what I posted on our blog about this subject a few weeks ago: 
 
 
 

IMPORTANT: Our Sign In settings are NOT the same thing as “Remember Me”

A common mistake many site users make is to assume that if they check the “Remember Me” check box at sign in, they are opting to stay signed in all the time and therefore should not have to sign in again. This explains why I routinely get complaints from frustrated customers who don’t understand why IV keeps “forcing” them to sign in when they’ve already checked the Remember Me box.

The important thing to understand here is that the “Remember Me” function is entirely separate and independent of the Sign In Preference on the settings page. The “Remember Me” box actually instructs your browser to “remember” (store) your password, so that when you exit IV and then come back to sign in at some later point in time, the password box will already be filled in, so you won’t have to enter your password again, all you will have to do is click “Sign In.”

“Remember Me” unchecked looks like this:

Featured image

“Remember Me” checked looks like this:

Featured image

In contrast, our Sign In settings do not control whether the browser automatically fills in your password, but they do control whether you will be required to Sign In or not.

If you choose to stay signed in all the time, you will not see the above Sign In box and will not have to go through the sign in process when you come to IV because you will already be signed in.

If you choose to require yourself to sign in with each visit (our default setting), then you will be presented with our Sign In box each time you come back to our site, e.g., after closing your browser window (or after approximately 20 minutes of inactivity, at which point you will be “timed out”).

__________________
 
To read my earlier message explaining how to elect to stay signed in virtually all the time, read this message.   
 
 
 
 


     e-mail to a friend      printer-friendly     add to library      
|  
Recs: 0  
   Views: 718 []
Previous Message  Next Message    Post Message    Post a Reply return to message boardtop of board


Financial Market Data provided by
.
Loading...